Devguys - some things you may want to know before hiring

First of all, if this is the wrong forum then I apologise.

I am following moderator instructions to take up any issues I have in a seperate thread to the advertisement. Normally I would not say anything but this 'designer' has said some blatent lies which I think need addressing before a WHT member gets seriously ripped off.

I understand a friend of mine, Sam Asante, has been suspended from the boards due to this issue and while I do not know the full details surrounding his suspension, I'd like to point out that I'm following moderator advice and I'm not looking to earn myself a ban.

Let me just set the scene - Devguys is a freelancer from California who can't even be bothered to create his own favicon (the image that appears next to it's listing in your Favourites list in IE or FF).

See for yourself in the image below. The exact same favicon as world reknowned fashion designer, Dolce & Gabbana.

http://img139.imageshack.us/my.php?i...sripperix4.jpg

Now, let me just quote this thread recently posted by Devguys in the Design Offers forum:

Quote:

Originally Posted by DevGuys (Post 5413416)
I also do other sites that need attention and have had the pleasure of working with the following companies:

Apple
CoffeeMate
DreamWorks
Nikon
PHPSnaps
FACE Mineral Cosmetics
and MORE!

Now, let's take a look at this list. Devguys says he recently worked on an advertising publication for Apple's flagship product in the telecommunications market, the iPhone. The official company which designs all of Apple's creative media is:

http://www.tbwa.com/

Only one of the worlds leading creative agencies. Oh, they do work for Addidas, MacDonalds and Nissan too.

Apple's estimated profits for this quarter: $11 000 000 000 - yes, $11bn. This quarter. The average Devguys job?

Quote:

Regular Price for Coding: $175 per page.
Not exactly the same ballpark, is it?

Simmilarly, Nikon:

http://nikon.com/

Apparantly Devguys redesigned their site?

http://www.devguys.com/clients/nikon/

Oh silly me, he's removed it on his new portfolio but the project description on his old portfolio mentioned he got bored and had a go at desiging a concept for the nikon site. Far from being commissioned by the worlds leading camera maker.

And DreamWorks? Wait, not the company who's in the opening scenes of every other movie I've ever seen? The guys that brought us Kung Fu Panda, Madagascar, Shrek, Tropic Thunder, Minority Report and Anchorman?

Something smells fishy to me guys, and personally I wouldn't work with someone who lies about their client list.

Ask yourself, if you were a designer that worked for all these large companies, wouldn't you be getting paid six-figures per project? Would you still be offering to do jobs on a hosting forum for <$500.

Now, I can guarantee Devguys will take this personally, and will say a lot of things about myself and my work in retaliation. This is a risk I'm willing to take to prove to the administrators of this board and also the users of this board who would otherwise hire this guy, that he is fraudulent. Poeple like this shouldn't be allowed to trade on a board as reputed as WHT.

And let's finish with a quote from the self-proclaimed high-flying designer himself:

Quote:

[21:36] devguyslive: Your buddy Sam just got suspended from WHT, you keep it up sucker and you will be next
[21:36] encore2k6: I'm following moderator advice.
[21:37] devguyslive: Yeah you better punk *** bi**h
Thanks for reading,

Comments are closed.